August 2011 | Back to Full Issue

CCHIIM Releases New Details on ICD-10 Recertification for AHIMA-Certified Professionals

Preparation has begun for the transition to ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS. As transition quickly grows closer, it is critical that all AHIMA certified professionals are ready to adapt to the new changes. The Commission on Certification for Health Informatics and Information Management’s (CCHIIM) new recertification policy specific to ICD-10-CM/PCS is an important guide designed to help prepare all AHIMA-certified professionals for whatever changes ICD-10-CM/PCS may bring.

The required ICD-10-CM/PCS continuing education hours determined by CCHIIM are applicable to the specific AHIMA credential(s) held by the individual. Earning these CEUs validates that certified professionals have gained knowledge of the new coding system and are able to integrate this knowledge into their positions.

The total number of ICD-10-CM/PCS continuing education units (CEUs) required by AHIMA credentials is as follows:

  • CHPS – 1 CEU
  • CHDA – 6 CEUs
  • RHIT – 6 CEUs
  • RHIA – 6 CEUs
  • CCS-P – 12 CEUs
  • CCS – 18 CEUs
  • CCA – 18 CEUs

The policy was created to reflect the different needs of HIM professionals in regards to ICD-10-CM/PCS. To reap the most benefits from their continuing education hours, AHIMA certified professionals are encouraged to choose experiences which relate as closely as possible to their job roles. The needs of a CCA or CCS who regularly apply codes are very different than a CHPS who needs a more general awareness of the system structure and its potential impact on workflow processes. The required competencies vary from awareness and usage to application.

Some examples of educational opportunities to fulfill these requirements include but are not limited to:

  • Introduction to ICD-10 basics
  • Business impact and implementation considerations
  • Understanding general equivalence mappings (GEMs)
  • ICD-10-CM structure, guidelines and conventions
  • Clinical documentation improvement strategies using ICD-10 CM
  • Biomedical science coursework such as anatomy and physiology and pathophysiology refresher courses
  • Data analysis and trending with ICD-10-CM coded data
  • ICD-10-CM and its effect on reimbursement methodologies

AHIMA-certified professionals are able to earn ICD-10-CM/PCS specific CEUs through December 31, 2013. Certificants will be able to report CEUs via the online CEU Center. More reporting details will be available later this summer.

For more information on earning ICD-10 CEUs, or specific education and activity recommendations, please click here.


Back to Top